Key data

Demographics :

125 nationalities represented. Monaco is a city-state who is open to the world. The official language is French though Italian and English are also widely spoken and understood.

Nationality Population : Total 36 601

Monaco  8 346
France  8 785
Italy  5 778
UK 2 334
Portugal    1 008
Switzerland  783
Germany  783
Belgium 480
Netherlands   412
USA 307
Sweden   287
Morocco  242
Spain  215
Greece 205
Canada  204
Denmark  165
Austria   158
Philippines 153
Lebanon  145
Mauritius  118
Russia  107
Australia 105
Tunisia  100
Others  1 701
2010 Census figures

WOMEN 4.982
MEN 3.970

Geography :

Monaco’s area is 2 sq. Km (just under 1 sq. mile), of which abt. 40 hectares (abt. 100 acres) were gained over the sea during the last 20 years. Monaco extends over a narrow strip of land that is 4,100 m long (abt. 2.5 miles) rising to 163 metres (just over 500ft). Its width varies between 1,050 and 350 metres (1,000 to 3,500 ft).
The Principality of Monaco borders four French cities of the Alpes-Maritimes department (from West to East: Cap d’Ail, La Turbie, Beausoleil and Roquebrune Cap-Martin) and has a Mediterranean coast-line.

Politics :

 An independent and sovereign state. The Principality is a hereditary constitutional monarchy with primacy of the rule of law over all institutions and with the separation of powers.

 Executive powers rest with the Prince’s high authority, while all Public Institutions are under the Minister of State, assisted by Government Advisors who are accountable to the Prince.

 Legislative and budgetary powers are exercised jointly by the Prince and the National Council.

 Judicial powers are independent of Government and are enforced by the courts and tribunals.

Monaco’s Municipality is a local administrative body that is run by an elected assembly, the Municipal Council, under State supervision.
The Principality is part of one and only municipality that is responsible for the whole territory.